top of page
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Google+ Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon

Surviving winter. Skincare and makeup tips.

Even seeing Spring on the calendar doesn't mean the cold days are over and the skincare/makeup routine should be changed this month. March is quite tricky month with sunny warm days but still reminding of winter, the easiest time to get sick. I was asked by Dollar Shave Club about the skincare routine that I follow in the cold time of the year. So, these are some tips of mine I've been following this winter and the first month of spring.

1. Water

For sure, the first thing everybody would say - stay moisturized. But for me, it means not only buying and using expensive creams and serums. It's also about staying moisturized from the inside. We all know that drinking water does good for all the body, but in winter it's kinda forgotten thing.

My rule - drink 1,5-2 litres of water daily, no matter what. It does make a difference for the look of your skin, hair and nails.

2. Creams

That's a part that where you should splurge a little bit. Good face cream is a must in winter. And yes, some SPF is a must as well. My choice - Skin Best from Biotherm. Thick and good moisturizer, doesn't feel greasy and is a good base for makeup.

For the body moisturizer my choice this winter - Vanilla&Cinnamon body milk from Korres. I mentioned it in my 2015 favourites (here). It's a beautiful body milk that makes you smell like a cinnamon cookie. Christmas can be everyday.

3. Oils

I believe creams are not enough for keeping everything super hydrated, so I use oils. I believe this winter cosmetic market got filled with oils like never before. There are so many brands that came with new products or new formulas covering all the purposes that the oils might be used for.

Personally I discovered for myself Divine Oil from Caudalie, which can be used for the face, body and hair. I think I like it the most from the oils that I own. It smells pretty amazing and keeps my skin moisturized well. It's also a pleasure to use it on my hair.

The Body Shop's Grapeseed Glossing serum is my favourite hair treatment in winter, as I mentioned in my Winter Favourites post (here).

I also like to use Bio-Oil and Super Regenerating Oil-Serum from Sephora for my face. I'm not sure about Bio-Oil, if it really does what it claims. The oil from Sephora is pretty good, not too greasy, guess my skin likes it.

4. Make up

I don't wear heavy foundations in winter, I like to keep things quite light like in summer. So I prefer to use tinted moisturizer or light weight moisturizing foundation again with SPF.

My choice - Mineral Tinted Moisturizer from Caudalie and Teint Miracle Foundation from Lancome. My review on Lancome foundation here. These bases make my skin look healthy and radiant.

I like doing some contouring in winter, layering many products on the face, and I believe these light bases do good job on keeping things in place.

In winter we all prefer to wear longlasting dark shade matte formulas lipsticks, which do dry the lips, no matter how good they are. It is very important to use some lipbalm. I love the one from Liposan. It is affordable, moisturizing, has a little bit of a tint.

So, these are the tips I follow in winter and beginning of spring. Let me know in the comments how you survive the coldest time of the year.

bottom of page